Isaac Newton

Philosophiae Naturalis Principia Mathematica: Philosophiae Naturalis Principia Mathematica by Isaac Newton, translated by Andrew Motte. The Mathematical Principles of Natural Philosophy  sometimes known as the Principia, is a three-volume masterwork by Isaac Newton. First published on July 5, 1687, in Latin. Newton produced two more editions in 1713 and 1726 after annotating and editing his first edition copy.

Newton’s principles of motion, which form the cornerstone of classical mechanics, Newton’s law of universal gravity, and a derivation of Kepler’s laws of planetary motion are all stated in the Principia (which Kepler first obtained empirically). The Principia is regarded as one of the most important writings in scientific history.

Sir Isaac Newton was an English mathematician, astronomer, theologian, essayist, and physicist who is regarded as one of history’s most significant scientists and a pivotal figure in the scientific revolution. The foundations of classical mechanics were laid by his book Philosophiæ Naturalis Principia Mathematica (“Mathematical Principles of Natural Philosophy”), which was originally published in 1687. Newton also made significant advances to optics, and he and Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz are credited with inventing the infinitesimal calculus.